Tennis: Rafael Nadal’s 22 Grand Slam titles

Rafael Nadal holds the record for Grand Slam titles with a total of 22 titles, including 14 Roland-Garros wins. Here are the details of all his coronations.

Roland Garros 2005

For his first participation in the French Open, Rafael Nadal made a sensation when he reached the final, where he defeated the Argentine Mariano Puerta (6-7, 6-3, 6-1, 7-5) by get his first Grand Slam title. at just 19 years old.

Roland Garros 2006

The Mallorcan did it again the following year. Considered the best clay player, he knocked down Roger Federer in the final after conceding the first set (1-6, 6-1, 6-4, 7-6).

Roland Garros 2007

A year later, the Bull of Manacor found the Swiss in the final with a similar outcome that allowed him to win a 3rd consecutive Mousquetaires Cup (6-3, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4). For his part, Federer was still looking for his first trophy on the clay courts of Porte d’Auteuil.

Roland Garros 2008

Never two without three. Once again, Rafael Nadal swept Roger Federer in the final in three short sets (6-1, 6-3, 6-0), equaling Björn Borg’s record with a fourth consecutive coronation on Paris clay.

Wimbledon 2008

After two consecutive defeats in the final, the Mallorcan managed to beat Roger Federer in his Wimbledon garden after an exciting final (6-4, 6-4, 6-7, 6-7, 9-7) to win and offer your first. coronation on the English turf.

Australian Open 2009

Against Roger Federer in a Grand Slam final, Rafael Nadal fired the Swiss (7-5, 3-6, 7-6, 3-6, 6-2) to win his first title also in Melbourne .

Roland Garros 2010

Rafael Nadal took revenge on Robin Söderling, who had eliminated him the previous year in the round of 16. He easily defeated the Swede in a unilateral final (6-4, 6-2, 6-4) to lift the Coupe des Mousquetaires for the 5th time.

Wimbledon 2010

Andy Murray fell in the semifinals, and a few weeks after his 5e coronation at Roland Garros, Rafael Nadal continued his harvest by winning a title on the Wimbledon turf after beating Thomas Berdych in the final (6-3, 7-5, 6-4).

US Open 2010

2010 was a successful year for Rafael Nadal. After Roland-Garros and Wimbledon, the Mallorcan won the US Open for the first time in his career thanks to his victory in the final against Novak Djokovic (6-4, 5-7, 6-4, 6 -2).

Roland Garros 2011

For the fourth time, he faced Roger Federer in the final. And for the 4th time, the Spaniard took over the Swiss (7-5, 7-6, 5-7, 6-1) to stay as master of the French Open with a 6.e sacred.

Roland Garros 2012

In a two-day final due to rain, Rafael Nadal defeated Novak Djokovic (6-4, 6-3, 2-6, 7-5). With this 7th coronation, he became the sole holder of the record for ocher victories at Porte d’Auteuil ahead of Björn Borg (6).

Roland Garros 2013

In his Roland-Garros garden, “Rafa” had no mercy on his compatriot David Ferrer, whom he easily dominated in the final (6-3, 6-2, 6-3) to become the first player in history to win a Grand Slam Tournament at least 8 times.

US Open 2013

For his 3e At the end of the US Open, Rafael Nadal took revenge on Novak Djokovic (6-2, 3-6, 6-4, 6-1), who had defeated him in the final in 2011, to win his 13th.e Grand Slam title.

Roland Garros 2014

Less sovereign than in previous years, Rafael Nadal, however, remained king of Roland Garros with a ninth crown won at Porte d’Auteuil at the expense of Novak Djokovic (3-6, 7-5, 6-2, 6-4). .

Roland Garros 2017

Three years after his last coronation, the Spaniard has regained the throne and regained possession of the premises. Intractable throughout the tournament, the Taurus of Manacor beat the Swiss Stan Wawrinka (6-2, 6-3, 6-1) in the final to sign a historic “Tenth”.

US Open 2017

Rafael Nadal became Prince of New York again thanks to his victory in the final against South African Kevin Anderson (6-3, 6-3, 6-4), synonymous with 3.e crowned at the United States Open.

Roland Garros 2018

Rafael Nadal clung to his throne. The same thing that makes him the king of mud and Roland Garros. The Spaniard was ruthless with Dominic Thiem, who presented himself as one of his possible heirs, to get his eleventh crown at Porte d’Auteuil (6-4, 6-3, 6-2).

Roland Garros 2019

Undisputed and undisputed master of clay, Rafael Nadal again defeated Dominic Thiem (6-3, 5-7, 6-1, 6-1) to allow himself a dozen Musketeers Cup.

US Open 2019

After an undecided final, Rafael Nadal, who saw Daniil Medvedev up, ended up beating the Russian (7-5, 6-3, 5-7, 4-6, 6-4) to win his 4th.e crowned at the U.S. Open, its 19the in Major.

Roland Garros 2020

In a season interrupted by the coronavirus pandemic, Rafael Nadal remained the owner of the place. Despite postponing the tournament in the fall, the Spaniard was ruthless with his opponents, including world number one Novak Djokovic in the final (6-0, 6-2, 7-5) to win his 13th. European Cup. Musketeers and equal Roger Federer’s record of 20 Grand Slam titles.

Australian Open 2022

For the second time in his career, Rafael Nadal won a second Australian Open by defeating Russian Daniil Medvedev (2-6, 6-7, 6-4, 6-4, 7-5) in the final to keep only Grand Slam victory record with 21 coronations.

Roland Garros 2022

Rafael Nadal has gone a little deeper into the history of tennis. A few months after his coronation at the Australian Open, the Spaniard offered his 14th coronation at Roland-Garros by beating Norwegian Casper Ruud (6-3, 6-3, 6-0) in the final by get his 22nd Grand Slam title. . Phenomenal!

Leave a Comment