Who are the nine ministers who survived Macron’s five-year term?

5:51 pm, May 3, 2022, modified at 6:09 pm, May 3, 2022

They were 23 at the beginning, in the first “hardened” government of Edouard Philippe formed in May 2017. Five years later, there are 69 people who have held a ministerial position during the first five years of Emmanuel Macron. And while the second term of the head of state will open on Saturday at the Elysée, only nine of them will have completed five years of government … perhaps hoping that it will be extended in a few days. Small assessment, before the last Council of Ministers of the Castex government this Wednesday.

Records for Le Drian, Le Maire and Blanquer

Of these nine people, five have never changed their portfolios:

  • Jean-Yves Le Drian he was in charge of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs for five years, having already served for the previous five years as Minister of Defense. These ten consecutive years in government placed him in the records of the V Republic, although personalities such as Roger Frey (13 and a half years, from January 1959 to July 1972) and Robert Boulin (just under 12 years, of August 1961 to March 1973). ) have shown longer longevity.
  • Bruno the mayor He remained Bercy’s head for five years, although the precise title of his ministry has evolved: he was first “Minister of Economy”, then “Minister of Economy and Finance”, and finally of “Economy, Finance and Recovery” in the Castex government. Bruno Le Maire has just broken the record for longevity of the Fifth Republic in this position, held until then by Valéry Giscard d’Estaing (June 1969 to May 1974).
  • Jean-Michel Blanquer, a newcomer to politics in May 2017, served throughout his term as Minister of National Education, then regaining Youth and Sports in the title. He also broke the record of the V Republic at the head of his ministry, which was usually considered unstable.
  • Frederic Vidalmore discreet than the previous three, she was in charge of the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation throughout the five-year period.
  • Sophie Cluzelwho is one of the few secretaries of state present in the government of Philip I, has held this position, in charge of people with disabilities, for the past five years.

Read also – PORTRAIT. Jean-Yves Le Drian, return to power after ten years, of Defense in Foreign Affairs

Two others were full-time ministers for five years, but changed ministers at the time of the transfer between Edouard Philippe and Jean Castex in July 2020.

  • Gerald Darmanin, Bercy’s Prime Minister for Action and Public Accounts, who is in charge of the budget, ended his five-year term at Place Beauvau as Home Secretary.
  • Annick Girardin, of the Radical Party and survivor as Jean-Yves Le Drian of the five-year-old Hollande (he met the governments of Valls and Cazeneuve between 2014 and 2017), was for three years Minister of Overseas and then Minister of the Sea for the last two years.

Finally, these two ministers have taken the lead in five years:

  • Elisabeth Borne he was Prime Minister in charge of Transport within the Ministry of Ecological Transition headed by Nicolas Hulot and later François de Rugy. She then took over the ministry after the latter resigned in July 2019. In the Castex government, she became Minister of Labor, Employment and Integration.
  • Marlene Schiappa began as Secretary of State for Equality between Women and Men. With the change of Prime Minister, she became Minister Delegate for Citizenship, under the supervision of Gerald Darmanin. She is the only one of the eight who has not been a full-fledged minister.

Therefore, these nine people were in office for 60 months of the five-year term. But others are not far off, due to the appointment of the government of Philip II that followed the legislative elections of June 2017, just one month after the election of Emmanuel Macron. They worry here Florence Parly, Sebastien Lecornu, Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne, Genevieve Darrieussecq i Julien Denormandieall of them still in office today.

On the other hand, François Bayrou, Sylvie Goulard, Richard Ferrand i Marielle de Sarnez (died 2021), who left the government a month after taking office after being weakened by investigations aimed at them, are the most ephemeral ministers of this five-year term.

69 ministers appointed during Macron’s five-year term

In all, Macron’s first five-year term had 69 people in government, 35 men and 34 women. They are five people less than François Hollande and one more than under Nicolas Sarkozy. The Head of State is also in proportion to the level of Valéry Giscard d’Estaing during his seven-year term, as shown in our ranking below.

  1. Jacques Chirac – 107 ministers in 83 months *: 1.29 ministers per month.
  2. François Hollande – 74 ministers in 60 months: 1.23
  3. Georges Pompidou – 69 ministers in 58 months: 1.19
  4. François Mitterrand – 135 ministers in 116 months *: 1.16
  5. Emmanuel Macron – 69 ministers in 60 months: 1.15
  6. Valéry Giscard d’Estaing – 96 ministers in 84 months: 1.14
  7. Nicolas Sarkozy – 68 ministers in 60 months: 1.13
  8. Charles de Gaulle – 88 ministers in 123 months: 0.72

* excluding the period of cohabitation.

It should be noted that these 69 ministers of the last five years were all appointed between May 2017 and July 2020, when the government of Castex was formed, which had up to 43 members. No new faces have appeared in the last two years, even three of them have left the ship: Alain Griset in late 2021 following his conviction for “incomplete or misleading declaration” of his estate, Nathalie Elimas in March of having made the subjection. investigation into allegations of harassment and Jacqueline Gourault at the same time following her appointment to the Constitutional Council.

Leave a Comment